{
  "dataset": "Publisher-reported journal metrics",
  "version": "2026.09.24-reported1",
  "reviewed": "2026-09-24",
  "publisher": "Manusights",
  "url": "https://manusights.com/resources/journal-intelligence",
  "license": {
    "name": "CC BY 4.0",
    "url": "https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/"
  },
  "scope": "Figures transcribed from publishers' own pages, each with its statistic, population, period, caveat and source. Only publishers whose reuse terms were read and permit it are included.",
  "codebook": {
    "id": "Stable observation identifier: journal, metric, source and population.",
    "journal_slug": "Manusights journal identifier.",
    "journal": "Journal name.",
    "metric": "Metric key: acceptance_rate, sent_for_review_rate, first_decision, without_review, with_review or acceptance_time.",
    "label": "Metric name in words.",
    "value": "The figure as the publisher states it.",
    "unit": "% for rates, days for durations.",
    "statistic": "percentage, median or mean, as the publisher labels it. Means are not medians.",
    "population": "Who the figure covers, in the publisher's terms (for example first submissions, accepted manuscripts).",
    "denominator_count": "Number of manuscripts in the denominator when the publisher states it; blank otherwise.",
    "reporting_period": "The period the publisher's figure covers, as stated on the page.",
    "definition": "What the metric measures, and what it does not.",
    "note": "Caveat recorded for this observation (for example a rate whose numerator and denominator are different cohorts).",
    "publisher": "Publisher of the source page.",
    "source_title": "Title of the publisher's page.",
    "source_url": "URL of the publisher's page, on the publisher's own domain.",
    "source_location": "Where on the page the figure appears.",
    "page_last_updated": "The page's own update date when it shows one; blank otherwise.",
    "observed_on": "Date Manusights read the page.",
    "limitation": "Limits of the source page as a whole.",
    "evidence": "Evidence tag: publisher_reported (the publisher's own number, transcribed).",
    "dataset_version": "Version of this layer.",
    "license": "Licence of the compilation. The source pages remain under their publishers' terms."
  },
  "observations": [
    {
      "id": "plos-biology-acceptance_rate-plos-metrics-2025-denominator-not-specified-on-the-metrics-page",
      "layer": "publisher-reported",
      "journalSlug": "plos-biology",
      "metric": "acceptance_rate",
      "label": "Acceptance rate",
      "value": 11,
      "unit": "%",
      "statistic": "percentage",
      "population": "Denominator not specified on the metrics page",
      "denominatorCount": null,
      "reportingPeriod": "2025 calendar year",
      "definition": "A journal-level percentage, not a forecast for an individual manuscript. Compare only with a compatible article set, period and denominator.",
      "note": "PLOS describes the acceptance rate as an average percentage.",
      "publisherId": "plos",
      "publisherName": "PLOS (Public Library of Science)",
      "sourceId": "plos-metrics-2025",
      "sourceTitle": "PLOS: publication metrics (2025)",
      "sourceUrl": "https://plos.org/metrics/",
      "sourceLocator": "Journal and article-level metrics; named journal panel and the footnote under the panels",
      "pageLastUpdated": null,
      "observedOn": "2026-09-24",
      "limitation": "PLOS labels timings as medians and the rate as an average percentage. The page does not define the rate denominator or separate first decisions with and without review. The page shows no update date; it says it is updated annually.",
      "journal": "PLOS Biology",
      "evidence": "publisher_reported"
    },
    {
      "id": "plos-biology-first_decision-plos-metrics-2025-plos-first-decision-dataset-review-path-inclusion-not-specified",
      "layer": "publisher-reported",
      "journalSlug": "plos-biology",
      "metric": "first_decision",
      "label": "First decision, paths not separated",
      "value": 48,
      "unit": "days",
      "statistic": "median",
      "population": "PLOS first-decision dataset; review-path inclusion not specified",
      "denominatorCount": null,
      "reportingPeriod": "2025 calendar year",
      "definition": "The publisher's overall first-decision metric. Do not relabel it as time after peer review.",
      "note": null,
      "publisherId": "plos",
      "publisherName": "PLOS (Public Library of Science)",
      "sourceId": "plos-metrics-2025",
      "sourceTitle": "PLOS: publication metrics (2025)",
      "sourceUrl": "https://plos.org/metrics/",
      "sourceLocator": "Journal and article-level metrics; named journal panel and the footnote under the panels",
      "pageLastUpdated": null,
      "observedOn": "2026-09-24",
      "limitation": "PLOS labels timings as medians and the rate as an average percentage. The page does not define the rate denominator or separate first decisions with and without review. The page shows no update date; it says it is updated annually.",
      "journal": "PLOS Biology",
      "evidence": "publisher_reported"
    },
    {
      "id": "plos-pathogens-acceptance_rate-plos-metrics-2025-denominator-not-specified-on-the-metrics-page",
      "layer": "publisher-reported",
      "journalSlug": "plos-pathogens",
      "metric": "acceptance_rate",
      "label": "Acceptance rate",
      "value": 22,
      "unit": "%",
      "statistic": "percentage",
      "population": "Denominator not specified on the metrics page",
      "denominatorCount": null,
      "reportingPeriod": "2025 calendar year",
      "definition": "A journal-level percentage, not a forecast for an individual manuscript. Compare only with a compatible article set, period and denominator.",
      "note": "PLOS describes the acceptance rate as an average percentage.",
      "publisherId": "plos",
      "publisherName": "PLOS (Public Library of Science)",
      "sourceId": "plos-metrics-2025",
      "sourceTitle": "PLOS: publication metrics (2025)",
      "sourceUrl": "https://plos.org/metrics/",
      "sourceLocator": "Journal and article-level metrics; named journal panel and the footnote under the panels",
      "pageLastUpdated": null,
      "observedOn": "2026-09-24",
      "limitation": "PLOS labels timings as medians and the rate as an average percentage. The page does not define the rate denominator or separate first decisions with and without review. The page shows no update date; it says it is updated annually.",
      "journal": "PLOS Pathogens",
      "evidence": "publisher_reported"
    },
    {
      "id": "plos-pathogens-first_decision-plos-metrics-2025-plos-first-decision-dataset-review-path-inclusion-not-specified",
      "layer": "publisher-reported",
      "journalSlug": "plos-pathogens",
      "metric": "first_decision",
      "label": "First decision, paths not separated",
      "value": 22,
      "unit": "days",
      "statistic": "median",
      "population": "PLOS first-decision dataset; review-path inclusion not specified",
      "denominatorCount": null,
      "reportingPeriod": "2025 calendar year",
      "definition": "The publisher's overall first-decision metric. Do not relabel it as time after peer review.",
      "note": null,
      "publisherId": "plos",
      "publisherName": "PLOS (Public Library of Science)",
      "sourceId": "plos-metrics-2025",
      "sourceTitle": "PLOS: publication metrics (2025)",
      "sourceUrl": "https://plos.org/metrics/",
      "sourceLocator": "Journal and article-level metrics; named journal panel and the footnote under the panels",
      "pageLastUpdated": null,
      "observedOn": "2026-09-24",
      "limitation": "PLOS labels timings as medians and the rate as an average percentage. The page does not define the rate denominator or separate first decisions with and without review. The page shows no update date; it says it is updated annually.",
      "journal": "PLOS Pathogens",
      "evidence": "publisher_reported"
    },
    {
      "id": "jci-acceptance_rate-jci-journal-stats-2026-first-submissions-research-clinical-research-and-public-health-research-letter-letter-to-the-editor",
      "layer": "publisher-reported",
      "journalSlug": "jci",
      "metric": "acceptance_rate",
      "label": "Acceptance rate",
      "value": 9.5,
      "unit": "%",
      "statistic": "percentage",
      "population": "First submissions: Research, Clinical Research and Public Health, Research Letter, Letter to the Editor",
      "denominatorCount": 5553,
      "reportingPeriod": "June 1, 2025 to May 31, 2026",
      "definition": "A journal-level percentage, not a forecast for an individual manuscript. Compare only with a compatible article set, period and denominator.",
      "note": "Manuscripts accepted in the year divided by manuscripts submitted in the same year; not the same cohort.",
      "publisherId": "asci",
      "publisherName": "American Society for Clinical Investigation (JCI, JCI Insight)",
      "sourceId": "jci-journal-stats-2026",
      "sourceTitle": "The Journal of Clinical Investigation: journal metrics",
      "sourceUrl": "https://www.jci.org/kiosks/journal-stats",
      "sourceLocator": "Submission, Review, and Decisions: 'Review and accept rates' and 'Time to 1st decision, acceptance, and publication' tables, JCI row, with the table notes",
      "pageLastUpdated": "Created July 6, 2026",
      "observedOn": "2026-09-24",
      "limitation": "Rates divide the manuscripts reviewed or accepted in the year by those submitted in the same year, so numerator and denominator are not the same cohort. Timings are averages, not medians.",
      "journal": "Journal of Clinical Investigation",
      "evidence": "publisher_reported"
    },
    {
      "id": "jci-sent_for_review_rate-jci-journal-stats-2026-first-submissions-research-clinical-research-and-public-health-research-letter-letter-to-the-editor",
      "layer": "publisher-reported",
      "journalSlug": "jci",
      "metric": "sent_for_review_rate",
      "label": "Sent for peer review",
      "value": 23.1,
      "unit": "%",
      "statistic": "percentage",
      "population": "First submissions: Research, Clinical Research and Public Health, Research Letter, Letter to the Editor",
      "denominatorCount": 5553,
      "reportingPeriod": "June 1, 2025 to May 31, 2026",
      "definition": "The publisher's share of submissions that went to external peer review. It is not an acceptance rate, and its complement is not a desk-rejection rate: transfers, withdrawals and cohort timing are not separated.",
      "note": "The page calls this the review rate: manuscripts undergoing peer review in the year divided by manuscripts submitted in the same year; not the same cohort.",
      "publisherId": "asci",
      "publisherName": "American Society for Clinical Investigation (JCI, JCI Insight)",
      "sourceId": "jci-journal-stats-2026",
      "sourceTitle": "The Journal of Clinical Investigation: journal metrics",
      "sourceUrl": "https://www.jci.org/kiosks/journal-stats",
      "sourceLocator": "Submission, Review, and Decisions: 'Review and accept rates' and 'Time to 1st decision, acceptance, and publication' tables, JCI row, with the table notes",
      "pageLastUpdated": "Created July 6, 2026",
      "observedOn": "2026-09-24",
      "limitation": "Rates divide the manuscripts reviewed or accepted in the year by those submitted in the same year, so numerator and denominator are not the same cohort. Timings are averages, not medians.",
      "journal": "Journal of Clinical Investigation",
      "evidence": "publisher_reported"
    },
    {
      "id": "jci-without_review-jci-journal-stats-2026-first-submissions-editorially-rejected-without-peer-review",
      "layer": "publisher-reported",
      "journalSlug": "jci",
      "metric": "without_review",
      "label": "First decision without peer review",
      "value": 5.4,
      "unit": "days",
      "statistic": "mean",
      "population": "First submissions editorially rejected without peer review",
      "denominatorCount": null,
      "reportingPeriod": "June 1, 2025 to May 31, 2026",
      "definition": "Receipt to the first decision for the path without external peer review.",
      "note": null,
      "publisherId": "asci",
      "publisherName": "American Society for Clinical Investigation (JCI, JCI Insight)",
      "sourceId": "jci-journal-stats-2026",
      "sourceTitle": "The Journal of Clinical Investigation: journal metrics",
      "sourceUrl": "https://www.jci.org/kiosks/journal-stats",
      "sourceLocator": "Submission, Review, and Decisions: 'Review and accept rates' and 'Time to 1st decision, acceptance, and publication' tables, JCI row, with the table notes",
      "pageLastUpdated": "Created July 6, 2026",
      "observedOn": "2026-09-24",
      "limitation": "Rates divide the manuscripts reviewed or accepted in the year by those submitted in the same year, so numerator and denominator are not the same cohort. Timings are averages, not medians.",
      "journal": "Journal of Clinical Investigation",
      "evidence": "publisher_reported"
    },
    {
      "id": "jci-with_review-jci-journal-stats-2026-first-submissions-decided-after-peer-review",
      "layer": "publisher-reported",
      "journalSlug": "jci",
      "metric": "with_review",
      "label": "First decision with peer review",
      "value": 35,
      "unit": "days",
      "statistic": "mean",
      "population": "First submissions decided after peer review",
      "denominatorCount": null,
      "reportingPeriod": "June 1, 2025 to May 31, 2026",
      "definition": "Receipt to the first decision on the reviewed path, including time before reviews are returned.",
      "note": null,
      "publisherId": "asci",
      "publisherName": "American Society for Clinical Investigation (JCI, JCI Insight)",
      "sourceId": "jci-journal-stats-2026",
      "sourceTitle": "The Journal of Clinical Investigation: journal metrics",
      "sourceUrl": "https://www.jci.org/kiosks/journal-stats",
      "sourceLocator": "Submission, Review, and Decisions: 'Review and accept rates' and 'Time to 1st decision, acceptance, and publication' tables, JCI row, with the table notes",
      "pageLastUpdated": "Created July 6, 2026",
      "observedOn": "2026-09-24",
      "limitation": "Rates divide the manuscripts reviewed or accepted in the year by those submitted in the same year, so numerator and denominator are not the same cohort. Timings are averages, not medians.",
      "journal": "Journal of Clinical Investigation",
      "evidence": "publisher_reported"
    },
    {
      "id": "jci-acceptance_time-jci-journal-stats-2026-accepted-manuscripts-first-submission-to-notification-of-acceptance",
      "layer": "publisher-reported",
      "journalSlug": "jci",
      "metric": "acceptance_time",
      "label": "Submission to acceptance",
      "value": 279.3,
      "unit": "days",
      "statistic": "mean",
      "population": "Accepted manuscripts, first submission to notification of acceptance",
      "denominatorCount": null,
      "reportingPeriod": "June 1, 2025 to May 31, 2026",
      "definition": "Published submission date to final acceptance. Includes intervening steps and excludes unsuccessful submissions.",
      "note": null,
      "publisherId": "asci",
      "publisherName": "American Society for Clinical Investigation (JCI, JCI Insight)",
      "sourceId": "jci-journal-stats-2026",
      "sourceTitle": "The Journal of Clinical Investigation: journal metrics",
      "sourceUrl": "https://www.jci.org/kiosks/journal-stats",
      "sourceLocator": "Submission, Review, and Decisions: 'Review and accept rates' and 'Time to 1st decision, acceptance, and publication' tables, JCI row, with the table notes",
      "pageLastUpdated": "Created July 6, 2026",
      "observedOn": "2026-09-24",
      "limitation": "Rates divide the manuscripts reviewed or accepted in the year by those submitted in the same year, so numerator and denominator are not the same cohort. Timings are averages, not medians.",
      "journal": "Journal of Clinical Investigation",
      "evidence": "publisher_reported"
    },
    {
      "id": "jci-insight-acceptance_rate-jci-insight-journal-stats-2026-first-submissions-including-transfers-from-the-jci-research-clinical-research-and-public-health-physician-scientist-development-research-letter-letter-to-the-editor",
      "layer": "publisher-reported",
      "journalSlug": "jci-insight",
      "metric": "acceptance_rate",
      "label": "Acceptance rate",
      "value": 20.2,
      "unit": "%",
      "statistic": "percentage",
      "population": "First submissions, including transfers from the JCI: Research, Clinical Research and Public Health, Physician-Scientist Development, Research Letter, Letter to the Editor",
      "denominatorCount": 2959,
      "reportingPeriod": "June 1, 2025 to May 31, 2026",
      "definition": "A journal-level percentage, not a forecast for an individual manuscript. Compare only with a compatible article set, period and denominator.",
      "note": "Manuscripts accepted in the year divided by manuscripts submitted in the same year; not the same cohort.",
      "publisherId": "asci",
      "publisherName": "American Society for Clinical Investigation (JCI, JCI Insight)",
      "sourceId": "jci-insight-journal-stats-2026",
      "sourceTitle": "JCI Insight: journal metrics",
      "sourceUrl": "https://insight.jci.org/kiosks/journal-stats",
      "sourceLocator": "Submission, Review, and Decisions: 'Review and accept rates' and 'Time to 1st decision, acceptance, and publication' tables, JCI Insight row, with the table notes",
      "pageLastUpdated": "Created July 6, 2026",
      "observedOn": "2026-09-24",
      "limitation": "Rates divide the manuscripts reviewed or accepted in the year by those submitted in the same year, so numerator and denominator are not the same cohort. Submissions include manuscripts transferred from the JCI. Timings are averages, not medians.",
      "journal": "JCI Insight",
      "evidence": "publisher_reported"
    },
    {
      "id": "jci-insight-sent_for_review_rate-jci-insight-journal-stats-2026-first-submissions-including-transfers-from-the-jci-research-clinical-research-and-public-health-physician-scientist-development-research-letter-letter-to-the-editor",
      "layer": "publisher-reported",
      "journalSlug": "jci-insight",
      "metric": "sent_for_review_rate",
      "label": "Sent for peer review",
      "value": 26,
      "unit": "%",
      "statistic": "percentage",
      "population": "First submissions, including transfers from the JCI: Research, Clinical Research and Public Health, Physician-Scientist Development, Research Letter, Letter to the Editor",
      "denominatorCount": 2959,
      "reportingPeriod": "June 1, 2025 to May 31, 2026",
      "definition": "The publisher's share of submissions that went to external peer review. It is not an acceptance rate, and its complement is not a desk-rejection rate: transfers, withdrawals and cohort timing are not separated.",
      "note": "The page calls this the review rate: manuscripts undergoing peer review in the year divided by manuscripts submitted in the same year; not the same cohort.",
      "publisherId": "asci",
      "publisherName": "American Society for Clinical Investigation (JCI, JCI Insight)",
      "sourceId": "jci-insight-journal-stats-2026",
      "sourceTitle": "JCI Insight: journal metrics",
      "sourceUrl": "https://insight.jci.org/kiosks/journal-stats",
      "sourceLocator": "Submission, Review, and Decisions: 'Review and accept rates' and 'Time to 1st decision, acceptance, and publication' tables, JCI Insight row, with the table notes",
      "pageLastUpdated": "Created July 6, 2026",
      "observedOn": "2026-09-24",
      "limitation": "Rates divide the manuscripts reviewed or accepted in the year by those submitted in the same year, so numerator and denominator are not the same cohort. Submissions include manuscripts transferred from the JCI. Timings are averages, not medians.",
      "journal": "JCI Insight",
      "evidence": "publisher_reported"
    },
    {
      "id": "jci-insight-without_review-jci-insight-journal-stats-2026-first-submissions-editorially-rejected-without-peer-review",
      "layer": "publisher-reported",
      "journalSlug": "jci-insight",
      "metric": "without_review",
      "label": "First decision without peer review",
      "value": 2,
      "unit": "days",
      "statistic": "mean",
      "population": "First submissions editorially rejected without peer review",
      "denominatorCount": null,
      "reportingPeriod": "June 1, 2025 to May 31, 2026",
      "definition": "Receipt to the first decision for the path without external peer review.",
      "note": null,
      "publisherId": "asci",
      "publisherName": "American Society for Clinical Investigation (JCI, JCI Insight)",
      "sourceId": "jci-insight-journal-stats-2026",
      "sourceTitle": "JCI Insight: journal metrics",
      "sourceUrl": "https://insight.jci.org/kiosks/journal-stats",
      "sourceLocator": "Submission, Review, and Decisions: 'Review and accept rates' and 'Time to 1st decision, acceptance, and publication' tables, JCI Insight row, with the table notes",
      "pageLastUpdated": "Created July 6, 2026",
      "observedOn": "2026-09-24",
      "limitation": "Rates divide the manuscripts reviewed or accepted in the year by those submitted in the same year, so numerator and denominator are not the same cohort. Submissions include manuscripts transferred from the JCI. Timings are averages, not medians.",
      "journal": "JCI Insight",
      "evidence": "publisher_reported"
    },
    {
      "id": "jci-insight-with_review-jci-insight-journal-stats-2026-first-submissions-decided-after-peer-review",
      "layer": "publisher-reported",
      "journalSlug": "jci-insight",
      "metric": "with_review",
      "label": "First decision with peer review",
      "value": 35.9,
      "unit": "days",
      "statistic": "mean",
      "population": "First submissions decided after peer review",
      "denominatorCount": null,
      "reportingPeriod": "June 1, 2025 to May 31, 2026",
      "definition": "Receipt to the first decision on the reviewed path, including time before reviews are returned.",
      "note": null,
      "publisherId": "asci",
      "publisherName": "American Society for Clinical Investigation (JCI, JCI Insight)",
      "sourceId": "jci-insight-journal-stats-2026",
      "sourceTitle": "JCI Insight: journal metrics",
      "sourceUrl": "https://insight.jci.org/kiosks/journal-stats",
      "sourceLocator": "Submission, Review, and Decisions: 'Review and accept rates' and 'Time to 1st decision, acceptance, and publication' tables, JCI Insight row, with the table notes",
      "pageLastUpdated": "Created July 6, 2026",
      "observedOn": "2026-09-24",
      "limitation": "Rates divide the manuscripts reviewed or accepted in the year by those submitted in the same year, so numerator and denominator are not the same cohort. Submissions include manuscripts transferred from the JCI. Timings are averages, not medians.",
      "journal": "JCI Insight",
      "evidence": "publisher_reported"
    },
    {
      "id": "jci-insight-acceptance_time-jci-insight-journal-stats-2026-accepted-manuscripts-first-submission-to-notification-of-acceptance",
      "layer": "publisher-reported",
      "journalSlug": "jci-insight",
      "metric": "acceptance_time",
      "label": "Submission to acceptance",
      "value": 246.3,
      "unit": "days",
      "statistic": "mean",
      "population": "Accepted manuscripts, first submission to notification of acceptance",
      "denominatorCount": null,
      "reportingPeriod": "June 1, 2025 to May 31, 2026",
      "definition": "Published submission date to final acceptance. Includes intervening steps and excludes unsuccessful submissions.",
      "note": null,
      "publisherId": "asci",
      "publisherName": "American Society for Clinical Investigation (JCI, JCI Insight)",
      "sourceId": "jci-insight-journal-stats-2026",
      "sourceTitle": "JCI Insight: journal metrics",
      "sourceUrl": "https://insight.jci.org/kiosks/journal-stats",
      "sourceLocator": "Submission, Review, and Decisions: 'Review and accept rates' and 'Time to 1st decision, acceptance, and publication' tables, JCI Insight row, with the table notes",
      "pageLastUpdated": "Created July 6, 2026",
      "observedOn": "2026-09-24",
      "limitation": "Rates divide the manuscripts reviewed or accepted in the year by those submitted in the same year, so numerator and denominator are not the same cohort. Submissions include manuscripts transferred from the JCI. Timings are averages, not medians.",
      "journal": "JCI Insight",
      "evidence": "publisher_reported"
    },
    {
      "id": "elife-sent_for_review_rate-elife-three-year-update-2026-submissions-received-in-2025",
      "layer": "publisher-reported",
      "journalSlug": "elife",
      "metric": "sent_for_review_rate",
      "label": "Sent for peer review",
      "value": 35,
      "unit": "%",
      "statistic": "percentage",
      "population": "Submissions received in 2025",
      "denominatorCount": 2853,
      "reportingPeriod": "2025 calendar year",
      "definition": "The publisher's share of submissions that went to external peer review. It is not an acceptance rate, and its complement is not a desk-rejection rate: transfers, withdrawals and cohort timing are not separated.",
      "note": "eLife reports 1,013 of 2,853 submissions sent for review and states the proportion as 35%; the two counts give 35.5%.",
      "publisherId": "elife",
      "publisherName": "eLife Sciences Publications",
      "sourceId": "elife-three-year-update-2026",
      "sourceTitle": "eLife: The eLife Model, three-year update",
      "sourceUrl": "https://elifesciences.org/inside-elife/7da92a51/the-elife-model-three-year-update",
      "sourceLocator": "'Impact on submissions' paragraph and the speed paragraphs that follow",
      "pageLastUpdated": "Mar 17, 2026 (publication date shown on the page)",
      "observedOn": "2026-09-24",
      "limitation": "eLife publishes every reviewed submission as a Reviewed Preprint, so it reports no acceptance rate. The share sent for review is the editors' selection rate.",
      "journal": "eLife",
      "evidence": "publisher_reported"
    },
    {
      "id": "elife-without_review-elife-three-year-update-2026-submissions-not-selected-for-peer-review",
      "layer": "publisher-reported",
      "journalSlug": "elife",
      "metric": "without_review",
      "label": "First decision without peer review",
      "value": 8,
      "unit": "days",
      "statistic": "median",
      "population": "Submissions not selected for peer review",
      "denominatorCount": null,
      "reportingPeriod": "2025 calendar year",
      "definition": "Receipt to the first decision for the path without external peer review.",
      "note": null,
      "publisherId": "elife",
      "publisherName": "eLife Sciences Publications",
      "sourceId": "elife-three-year-update-2026",
      "sourceTitle": "eLife: The eLife Model, three-year update",
      "sourceUrl": "https://elifesciences.org/inside-elife/7da92a51/the-elife-model-three-year-update",
      "sourceLocator": "'Impact on submissions' paragraph and the speed paragraphs that follow",
      "pageLastUpdated": "Mar 17, 2026 (publication date shown on the page)",
      "observedOn": "2026-09-24",
      "limitation": "eLife publishes every reviewed submission as a Reviewed Preprint, so it reports no acceptance rate. The share sent for review is the editors' selection rate.",
      "journal": "eLife",
      "evidence": "publisher_reported"
    },
    {
      "id": "journal-of-immunology-first_decision-aai-publishing-process-2026-submissions-to-the-journal-of-immunology-review-path-inclusion-not-specified",
      "layer": "publisher-reported",
      "journalSlug": "journal-of-immunology",
      "metric": "first_decision",
      "label": "First decision, paths not separated",
      "value": 35,
      "unit": "days",
      "statistic": "mean",
      "population": "Submissions to The Journal of Immunology; review-path inclusion not specified",
      "denominatorCount": null,
      "reportingPeriod": "2025 calendar year",
      "definition": "The publisher's overall first-decision metric. Do not relabel it as time after peer review.",
      "note": null,
      "publisherId": "aai",
      "publisherName": "The American Association of Immunologists (The Journal of Immunology)",
      "sourceId": "aai-publishing-process-2026",
      "sourceTitle": "AAI News: Inside the Publishing Process at the AAI Journals",
      "sourceUrl": "https://news.aai.org/2026/02/10/inside-the-publishing-process/",
      "sourceLocator": "'The initial decision' section",
      "pageLastUpdated": "February 13, 2026 (first published February 10, 2026)",
      "observedOn": "2026-09-24",
      "limitation": "The page gives an average, and does not say whether submissions declined before review are included. It gives no journal-level acceptance rate: its 95% figure covers resubmitted manuscripts only and is not recorded here.",
      "journal": "Journal of Immunology",
      "evidence": "publisher_reported"
    }
  ]
}