Reference Data
Journal Acceptance Rates (2026)
Updated September 26, 2026171 journalsEvery figure tagged by its source
Acceptance rates are one of the most searched-for numbers in academic publishing, and one of the most misunderstood.
A low acceptance rate tells you the journal is selective. It doesn't tell you whether your paper fits. A paper that's a strong match for a journal with a 20% acceptance rate has better odds than a paper that's a marginal fit at a journal with a 5% rate. Fit matters more than selectivity.
That said, the numbers are useful for calibrating expectations. If you're submitting to a journal that accepts fewer than 8% of manuscripts, you should know that going in. It changes how you prepare your cover letter, how you frame your significance, and how many backup options you line up.
The table below covers 171 top scientific and medical journals. All data comes from our detailed journal guides, where you can find full submission advice for each one. Each figure is labeled: publisher-reported figures are published by the journal or its publisher, reported figures are exact numbers from a public source that this table has not re-checked, and estimates are approximate. Journals with a figure are listed first. For the 68 journals in our PubMed dataset, the last column adds the measured median time from submission to acceptance for research articles published in 2024-2025, which includes revision time and is not an acceptance rate.
Impact factors are the Clarivate Journal Citation Reports values recorded in each journal guide. They are not re-checked for this table, and the JCR year can differ from one journal to the next, so confirm the current figure in JCR before you quote it.
| Journal | Impact Factor | Acceptance Rate | Time to First Decision | Submission to acceptance (measured) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lancet | 109 | about 5% Publisher-reportedSource checked 2026-10-21. The author's guidance describes the overall acceptance rate as about 5%. It does not provide a desk-rejection percentage or an individual manuscript probability. Approximate overall rate, with no reporting period, submission denominator or article-type breakdown stated. A journal aggregate is not a manuscript probability. Source: The Lancet Information for Authors (August 2026) | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | |
| Ann. Oncol. | 80.4 | 12% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 3 days to first decision (Elsevier Journal Finder, all first decisions incl. desk rejections) Reported | |
| JAMA | 65.4 | 10% of submissions; 4% of research manuscripts Publisher-reported Source: JAMA For Authors page | 24 days with review; 2 days without review (medians) Publisher-reported Source: JAMA For Authors page | |
| Nature | 56.1 | about 8% Publisher-reportedSource checked 2026-10-21. Approximate acceptance percentage in Nature's editorial-process guidance. The page gives no reporting period and does not quantify desk rejection. Approximate undated publisher guidance; not an individual acceptance probability or a desk-rejection share. Source: Nature editorial criteria and processes | 8 days median to first editorial decision Publisher-reported Source: Nature journal metrics | 300.5 days Measured |
| Lancet Neurology | 54.6 | 16% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 2-4 weeks initial decision Estimate | |
| Cancer Cell | 54.5 | 11% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | ~5 days to desk decision; ~8 weeks to first decision after review Estimate | 227 days Measured |
| Science | 47.3 | 5.3% Publisher-reportedSource checked 2026-10-21. research acceptance rate; research articles, reports and research resources in full-year 2025. Reviews and analytical reviews are excluded. Manuscripts with a final decision; accepted decisions divided by all final decisions. Research-content cohort only. The published acceptance and external-review percentages must not be converted into a desk-rejection or conditional acceptance probability. Timing intervals have different outcomes and start points; they are not manuscript deadlines. Source: Science journal metrics | 8 days to first decision Publisher-reportedSource checked 2026-10-21. submission to first editorial decision; research articles, reports and research resources in full-year 2025. Reviews and analytical reviews are excluded. Initial editorial send-to-review or rejection decisions. Research-content cohort only. The published acceptance and external-review percentages must not be converted into a desk-rejection or conditional acceptance probability. Timing intervals have different outcomes and start points; they are not manuscript deadlines. Source: Science journal metrics | |
| J. Clin. Oncology | 46.2 | 11% of Original Reports Publisher-reported Source: ASCO journals author FAQ | about 4 weeks to first decision Publisher-reported Source: ASCO peer review process | |
| Cell | 45.1 | 8% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 10 days median to first decision Publisher-reported Source: Cell Press performance metrics | 257.5 days Measured |
| Circulation | 41.3 | 8% Publisher-reported Source: Circulation about page | 17 days median to first decision Reported | |
| Cell Metabolism | 37 | 8% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 7 days median to first editorial decision (Cell Press) Reported | 238 days Measured |
| Lancet Oncology | 33.7 | 14% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | |
| Immunity | 30.6 | 13% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 7 days median to first editorial decision (Cell Press) Reported | 283 days Measured |
| Gastroenterology | 29.7 | 14% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | ~25 days Estimate | |
| Lancet Infectious Diseases | 29.4 | 13% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 2-4 weeks to first decision Estimate | |
| Advanced Materials | 29.1 | 15% Publisher-reported Source: Wiley Online Library Advanced Materials journal metrics | 14 days median submission to first decision Publisher-reported Source: Wiley Online Library Advanced Materials journal metrics | |
| Adv. Energy Mater. | 25.5 | 16% (2025) Publisher-reported Source: Advanced Energy Materials journal metrics | 10 days median to first decision (2025) Publisher-reported Source: Advanced Energy Materials journal metrics | |
| Gut | 24.6 | 12% Publisher-reportedSource checked 2026-10-21. Acceptance percentage under the publisher's Journal Statistics 2025 heading; not a desk-rejection percentage. The statistics heading supplies 2025. The page does not supply a desk-rejection denominator or a comparable rate for another journal. Source: Gut About: Journal Statistics 2025 | 23 days with review; 3 days without review (medians, 2025) Publisher-reported Source: Gut About page | 108 days Measured |
| JAMA Oncology | 23.9 | 8% Publisher-reportedAll submissions; JAMA Oncology does not state the reporting period. Journal-wide figure, not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: JAMA Oncology For Authors page | 32 days with review; 3 days without review (medians) Publisher-reported Source: JAMA Oncology For Authors page | |
| Cell Host & Microbe | 23.2 | 10% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 3 days median to first editorial decision (Cell Press) Reported | |
| Diabetes Care | 22.6 | 11.06% Publisher-reported Source: Diabetes Care About the Journal | 18 days average to first decision Publisher-reported Source: Diabetes Care About the Journal | 96 days Measured |
| EnergyChem | 20.4 (publisher-displayed) | 12% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | Not publicly verified | |
| Adv. Funct. Materials | 19.9 | 18% (2025) Publisher-reported Source: Advanced Functional Materials journal metrics | 9 days median to first decision (2025) Publisher-reported Source: Advanced Functional Materials journal metrics | |
| Cell Stem Cell | 19.8 | 13% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 30-45 days Estimate | 266 days Measured |
| Appl. Catal. B | 19.7 | 12% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 5 days to first decision Reported | |
| Trends Mol. Med. | 18.1 | 37% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | Not publicly verified | 36 days Measured |
| Circulation Research | 18.0 | 12% Publisher-reported Source: Circulation Research about page | <21 days (typical) Publisher-reported Source: Circulation Research author instructions | |
| Renew. Sustain. Energy Rev. | 18 | 14% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 2 days to first decision (Elsevier Journal Finder, all first decisions incl. desk rejections) Reported | |
| Angewandte Chemie | 17.6 | 19% (2025) Publisher-reported Source: Angewandte Chemie International Edition journal metrics (Wiley) | 9 days median to first decision (2025) Publisher-reported Source: Angewandte Chemie International Edition journal metrics (Wiley) | |
| Neuron | 16.9 | 13% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 4 days to first decision Publisher-reported Source: Neuron journal insights | 230.5 days Measured |
| Science Immunology | 16.4 | 5.2% (2025) Publisher-reported Source: Science journal metrics overview | 5 days median to first decision; 64 days after review (2025) Publisher-reported Source: Science journal metrics overview | |
| Molecular Cell | 16 | 11% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 19 days median to first editorial decision (Cell Press) ReportedThe official insights page publishes submission-to-acceptance timing, but not a first-decision metric. Source: Molecular Cell journal insights | 252 days Measured |
| Science Translational Medicine | 15.6 | 4.6% (2025) Publisher-reported Source: Science journal metrics overview | 7 days median to first decision; 82 days after review (2025) Publisher-reported Source: Science journal metrics overview | |
| Tourism Management | 14.5 | 7% Publisher-reportedSource checked 2026-10-21. Publisher-reported overall acceptance rate, not a manuscript-specific probability or a desk-rejection share. The catalog does not specify the reporting period, submission count or article-type coverage. The observation date is not a metric year. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 14 days to first decision Publisher-reportedSource checked 2026-10-21. Submission to the first editorial decision, including initial editorial decisions; not completed external peer review. The catalog does not specify the reporting period, submission count or article-type coverage. The observation date is not a metric year. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | |
| J. Clin. Investigation | 14.3 | 9.5% Publisher-reportedJune 1, 2025 to May 31, 2026. Manuscripts accepted in the year divided by manuscripts submitted in the same year; not the same cohort. First submissions. 23.1% were sent for review. Source observations checked 2026-09-24. Source: The Journal of Clinical Investigation: journal metrics | 5.4 days without review; 35 days with review (means) Publisher-reportedJune 1, 2025 to May 31, 2026. Means, not medians. Source observations checked 2026-09-24. Source: The Journal of Clinical Investigation: journal metrics | 243 days Measured |
| Science Advances | 13.9 | 8.8% (2025) Publisher-reported Source: Science journal metrics overview | 8 days median to first decision; 58 days after review (2025) Publisher-reported Source: Science journal metrics overview | |
| Carbohydr. Polym. | 13.2 | 13% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | Not publicly verified | 83 days Measured |
| Water Res. | 12.8 | 13% Publisher-reportedSource checked 2026-10-21. Publisher-reported overall acceptance rate, not a manuscript-specific probability or a desk-rejection share. The catalog does not specify the reporting period, submission count or article-type coverage. The observation date is not a metric year. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 7 days to first decision Publisher-reportedSource checked 2026-10-21. Submission to the first editorial decision, including initial editorial decisions; not completed external peer review. The catalog does not specify the reporting period, submission count or article-type coverage. The observation date is not a metric year. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 91 days Measured |
| Chemical Engineering Journal | 12.5 | 21% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 10 days to first decision Reported | |
| JCR | 12.4 | 13% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | Editorial screening first; peer review after delivery-mechanism fit | 106 days Measured |
| Appl. Energy | 12.2 | 6% Publisher-reportedSource checked 2026-10-21. Publisher-reported overall acceptance rate, not a manuscript-specific probability or a desk-rejection share. The catalog does not specify the reporting period, submission count or article-type coverage. The observation date is not a metric year. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 1 day to first decision Publisher-reportedSource checked 2026-10-21. Submission to the first editorial decision, including initial editorial decisions; not completed external peer review. The catalog does not specify the reporting period, submission count or article-type coverage. The observation date is not a metric year. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | |
| Small | 11.8 | 31% (2025) Publisher-reported Source: Small journal metrics | 19 days median to first decision (2025) Publisher-reported Source: Small journal metrics | |
| JAMA Network Open | 11.7 | 12% Publisher-reported Source: JAMA Network Open for Authors | 46 days with review; 2 days without review (medians) Publisher-reported Source: JAMA Network Open For Authors page | |
| Phytomedicine | 11.3 | 13% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | ~4-8 weeks Estimate | 124.5 days Measured |
| Acta Materialia | 10.7 | 18% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | ~3-5 months to first decision EstimateEstimated from the Acta Materialia submission workflow and public author guidance, not an official median. Source: Acta Materialia Guide for Authors | |
| J. Cleaner Production | 10.7 | 6% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | ~45 days median to first decision Estimate | |
| Journal of Energy Storage | 10.7 | 29% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | Elsevier insights report first decision and review timelines at journal level | |
| J. Hazard. Mater. | 10.6 | 14% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | Not publicly verified | 87 days Measured |
| Diabetologia | 10.4 | <15% Publisher-reported Source: Diabetologia general information | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 98 days Measured |
| Food Chem. | 10.4 | 25% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 31 days to first decision (Elsevier Journal Finder, all first decisions incl. desk rejections) Reported | 118 days Measured |
| Energy | 10.1 | 17% Publisher-reportedSource checked 2026-10-21. Publisher-reported overall acceptance rate, not a manuscript-specific probability or a desk-rejection share. The catalog does not specify the reporting period, submission count or article-type coverage. The observation date is not a metric year. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 8 days to first decision Publisher-reportedSource checked 2026-10-21. Submission to the first editorial decision, including initial editorial decisions; not completed external peer review. The catalog does not specify the reporting period, submission count or article-type coverage. The observation date is not a metric year. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | |
| PLOS Medicine | 9.9 | 4% (2025) Publisher-reported Source: PLOS metrics | 67 days median to first decision (2025) Publisher-reported Source: PLOS metrics | 183 days Measured |
| J. Colloid Interface Sci. | 9.6 | 13% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 3 days to first decision (Elsevier Journal Finder, all first decisions incl. desk rejections) Reported | 72.5 days Measured |
| PNAS | 9.5 | 13% of direct submissions (2025) Publisher-reported Source: PNAS journal metrics | 10 days to first decision; 45 days after review (2025) Publisher-reported Source: PNAS journal metrics | |
| ESWA | 9.4 | 11% Publisher-reportedSource checked 2026-10-21. Publisher-reported overall acceptance rate, not a manuscript-specific probability or a desk-rejection share. The catalog does not specify the reporting period, submission count or article-type coverage. The observation date is not a metric year. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 5 days to first decision Publisher-reportedSource checked 2026-10-21. Submission to the first editorial decision, including initial editorial decisions; not completed external peer review. The catalog does not specify the reporting period, submission count or article-type coverage. The observation date is not a metric year. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | |
| Current Biology | 9.2 | 17% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 30-45 days for initial decision Estimate | 147 days Measured |
| Developmental Cell | 9.2 | 12% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 30-45 days initial decision Estimate | 284 days Measured |
| Int. J. Hydrog. Energy | 9.2 | 29% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | Not published by Elsevier (Journal Finder shows no figure) | |
| Constr. Build. Materials | 8.9 | 20% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 3 days to first decision (Elsevier Journal Finder, all first decisions incl. desk rejections) Reported | |
| Int. J. Biol. Macromol. | 8.7 | 25% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 5 days to first decision (Elsevier Journal Finder, all first decisions incl. desk rejections) Reported | 108.5 days Measured |
| Journal of CO2 Utilization | 8.6 | 25% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | Editorial screening first; peer review after editor fit | |
| Building and Environment | 8.4 | 14% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | Editorial screening first; peer review after editor fit | |
| J. Power Sources | 8.4 | 38% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 10 days to first decision (Elsevier Journal Finder, all first decisions incl. desk rejections) Reported | |
| Bioresour. Technol. | 8.2 | 12% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | Not publicly verified | 74 days Measured |
| Environmental Research | 8.2 | 10% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 2 days submission to first decision on ScienceDirect Reported | 78 days Measured |
| Sci. Total Environment | 8.0 | 16% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | ~60 days to first decision Estimate | 87 days Measured |
| Fuel | 7.8 | 24% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 9 days to first decision (Elsevier Journal Finder, all first decisions incl. desk rejections) Reported | |
| AJHG | 7.7 | 16% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 3 days median to first editorial decision (Cell Press) Reported | 150.5 days Measured |
| Biomedicine & Pharmacotherapy | 7.5 | 16% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | Editorial screening first; peer review after editor fit | 79 days Measured |
| Journal of Hydrology | 7.3 | 17% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | Editorial screening first | |
| PLOS Biol. | 6.9 | 11% Publisher-reported2025 calendar year. PLOS describes the acceptance rate as an average percentage. Denominator not specified on the metrics page. Source observations checked 2026-09-24. Source: PLOS: publication metrics (2025) | 48 days (median) Publisher-reported2025 calendar year. PLOS first-decision dataset; review-path inclusion not specified. Source observations checked 2026-09-24. Source: PLOS: publication metrics (2025) | 211 days Measured |
| J. Alloys Compd. | 6.7 | 28% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 8 days to first decision (Elsevier Journal Finder, all first decisions incl. desk rejections) Reported | |
| Applied Surface Science | 6.6 | 18% Publisher-reportedSource checked 2026-10-21. Publisher-reported overall acceptance rate, not a manuscript-specific probability or a desk-rejection share. The catalog does not specify the reporting period, submission count or article-type coverage. The observation date is not a metric year. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 9 days to first decision Publisher-reportedSource checked 2026-10-21. Submission to the first editorial decision, including initial editorial decisions; not completed external peer review. The catalog does not specify the reporting period, submission count or article-type coverage. The observation date is not a metric year. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | |
| Ceram. Int. | 6 | 30% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 1 day to first decision (Elsevier Journal Finder, all first decisions incl. desk rejections) Reported | |
| Bioinformatics | 5.5 | about 30% Publisher-reported Source: Bioinformatics instructions to authors | ~23 days median first decision Estimate | 156.5 days Measured |
| Colloids and Surfaces A | 5.4 | 26% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 7 days to first decision Publisher-reported Source: ScienceDirect journal insights | |
| Microchem. J. | 5.1 | 33% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 3 days to first decision; 29 days after review Publisher-reported Source: Microchemical Journal Insights | |
| PLOS Pathogens | 4.9 | 22% Publisher-reported2025 calendar year. PLOS describes the acceptance rate as an average percentage. Denominator not specified on the metrics page. Source observations checked 2026-09-24. Source: PLOS: publication metrics (2025) | 22 days (median) Publisher-reported2025 calendar year. PLOS first-decision dataset; review-path inclusion not specified. Source observations checked 2026-09-24. Source: PLOS: publication metrics (2025) | |
| Scientific Reports | 4.9 | about 50% Publisher-reported Source: Scientific Reports editorial board member guide | 12 days median to first decision (2025) Publisher-reported Source: Nature Portfolio journal metrics | 139 days Measured |
| Appl. Catal. A | 4.8 | 23% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | Check current publisher guidance | |
| IEEE Access | 4.2 | 20% (average) Publisher-reported Source: IEEE Access authors page | 4 to 6 weeks average from submission to publication (IEEE Access) Publisher-reported Source: IEEE Access rapid peer review | |
| J. Biol. Chemistry | 4.1 | 38% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | ~8-12 weeks Estimate | |
| J. Immunol. | 4 | 50% of full-length articles; 67% of Cutting Edge (2023) Publisher-reported Source: The Journal of Immunology about page | 35 days (mean) Publisher-reported2025 calendar year. A mean, not a median. Submissions to The Journal of Immunology; review-path inclusion not specified. Source observations checked 2026-09-24. Source: AAI News: Inside the Publishing Process at the AAI Journals | 160 days Measured |
| Carbohydr. Res. | 3.4 | 36% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 4 days to first decision Publisher-reported Source: Carbohydrate Research ScienceDirect journal page | |
| Chemical Physics | 2.8 (publisher-displayed) | 16% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 5 days submission to first decision (publisher display) Publisher-reported Source: Chemical Physics journal page | |
| PLOS ONE | 2.8 | 26% (2025) Publisher-reported Source: PLOS metrics | 32 days median to first decision (2025) Publisher-reported Source: PLOS metrics | 140.5 days Measured |
| BMJ Open | 2.5 | 27% Publisher-reportedBMJ Open reports a 27% acceptance rate on the public journal statistics page. Source: BMJ Open about page | 134 days median with review Publisher-reportedBMJ Open reports 134 days median to first decision with review. Source: BMJ Open about page | |
| Cells & Development | 2.5 | 30% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | Not publicly verified | |
| Current Research in Translational Medicine | Verify current JCR | 13% Publisher-reportedJournal-wide figure from Elsevier's journal catalog, read October 2026; the catalog does not state the reporting period or denominator, and the figure is not the odds for any one manuscript. Source: Elsevier journal catalog | Not disclosed Source: Elsevier Guide for Authors | |
| NEJM | 84.5 | <5% Estimate | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | |
| JAMA Cardiology | 15.2 | ~8% Estimate | 5 days without external review; 37 days with review (medians) Reported | |
| Struct. Biol. | 10.1 | ~25-35% Estimate | ~90-120 days median Estimate | |
| Nat. Rev. Mol. Cell Biol. | 118 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | |
| Chemical Reviews | 64.2 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 58 days with review; 12.7 days without review (medians) Publisher-reported Source: ACS Journal Metrics | |
| Nat. Rev. Cancer | 60.7 | Not publicly reportedThe publisher describes commissioning and proposal review but does not publish an acceptance rate. Source: Nature Reviews Cancer editorial process | 6 days median to first editorial decision Publisher-reported Source: Nature Reviews Cancer journal metrics | |
| BMJ | 55.1 | Not published by the journal | Not published by the journalThe BMJ's only published figure is a 2019 median (58 days with review); too old to show as a current figure. Checked 2026-10-10. | |
| Nature Medicine | 52.3 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 4 days median to first decision (2025) Publisher-reported Source: Nature Medicine journal metrics | |
| RMP | 48.9 | Highly selective and proposal-led | Proposal and editorial encouragement first | |
| Chem. Soc. Rev. | 48.3 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 11 days median to first decision; 27 days after review Publisher-reported Source: Chemical Society Reviews journal page | |
| European Heart Journal | 45.6 | Not established by checked official sources | No verified current duration | |
| Nature Biotechnology | 44.5 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 4 days median to first editorial decision Reported | |
| Nature Methods | 28.3 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 10 days median to first decision (2025) Publisher-reported Source: Nature Methods journal metrics | 311 days Measured |
| Nature Cancer | 28.0 (2025 JIF) | Not publicly disclosedNature Portfolio's public journal metrics page does not state an acceptance rate. Source: Nature Cancer journal metrics | 8 days median to first editorial decision Publisher-reported Source: Nature Cancer journal metrics | |
| Nature Immunology | 26.5 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 5 days median to first editorial decision Reported | |
| Nature Genetics | 25.5 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 11 days median to first decision (2025) Publisher-reported Source: Nature Genetics journal metrics | 371.5 days Measured |
| Blood | 23.9 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 15 days average to first decision (unsolicited submissions) Publisher-reported Source: Why Submit to Blood (ASH) | |
| Cancer Res. | 22.6 | Not publicly reported | Varies by manuscript | 214 days Measured |
| JACC | 22.3 | Not publishedElsevier's journal catalog lists no acceptance rate for this journal (read October 2026). Source: Elsevier journal catalog | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | |
| IEEE TPAMI | 20.4 | Highly selective | Editorial screening first | |
| Nature Neuroscience | 20.3 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 9 days median to first decision (2025) Publisher-reported Source: Nature Neuroscience journal metrics | 428 days Measured |
| Nature Communications | 18.1 | Not publicly reportedNature Communications does not publish an official acceptance rate on its current public metrics page. Source: Nature Communications journal metrics | 9 days to first editorial decision Publisher-reported Source: Nature Communications journal metrics | 250.5 days Measured |
| Hepatology | 18 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 104 days Measured |
| ACS Nano | 17.3 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 34 days with review; 5.4 days without review (medians) Publisher-reported Source: ACS Journal Metrics | |
| JACS | 16.6 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 29.1 days with review; 7 days without review (medians) Publisher-reported Source: ACS Journal Metrics | |
| Nature Chemical Biology | 15.8 | Not publicly disclosed | 11 days median to first editorial decision Reported | 286 days Measured |
| Nucleic Acids Research | 15 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 18 days median to first decision (2025) Publisher-reported Source: Nucleic Acids Research About page (OUP) | 146.5 days Measured |
| Drugs | 14.7 | Proposal and invitation led | Presubmission inquiry before invited Review development | |
| ACS Catal. | 13.6 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 28.6 days with review; 5.4 days without review (medians) Publisher-reported Source: ACS Journal Metrics | |
| Cell Death and Differentiation | 13.6 | Selective Springer Nature cell-death journal | Editorial screening first; peer review after editor fit | 212 days Measured |
| Brain | 12.6 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 6 days median to first decision (2025) Publisher-reported Source: Brain About page (OUP) | 147 days Measured |
| PRX Quantum | 12.3 | Not publicly reported | 5 days before review; 58 days after review (2025 APS aggregates) Reported | |
| Cell Death & Disease | 12.2 | Selective Springer Nature open-access journal | Editorial screening first; peer review after editor fit | 179.5 days Measured |
| Environ. Sci. Technology | 12.2 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 48.2 days with review; 8.5 days without review (medians) Publisher-reported Source: ACS Journal Metrics | |
| JEM | 11.6 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 196 days Measured |
| The Plant Cell | 11.6 | Selective ASPB and OUP plant-science journal | The journal reports fast first-decision timing for reviewed manuscripts | |
| Clin. Cancer Res. | 10.9 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 35 days with review; 3.8 days without review (medians) Publisher-reported Source: AACR Manuscript Turnaround Guarantee | 127.5 days Measured |
| Molecular Psychiatry | 10.4 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 19 days median to first decision (2025) Publisher-reported Source: Molecular Psychiatry journal metrics | 261 days Measured |
| Nature Struct. & Mol. Biol. | 10.1 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 8 days median to first decision (2025) Publisher-reported Source: Nature Structural & Molecular Biology journal metrics | |
| Physical Review Letters | 9.4 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 7 days median to first decision; 54 days after review (2025) Publisher-reported Source: APS journal metrics | 183 days Measured |
| Genome Biology | 9.2 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 13 days median to first decision Publisher-reported Source: Genome Biology journal page | 271 days Measured |
| Journal of Materials Chemistry A | 9.2 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 12 days median to first decision; 32 days after review Publisher-reported Source: Journal of Materials Chemistry A journal page | |
| Nano Lett. | 9.1 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 30.2 days with review; 7.4 days without review (medians) Publisher-reported Source: ACS Journal Metrics | |
| BMC Medicine | 8.7 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 3 days median to first editorial decision Reported | 162.5 days Measured |
| The EMBO Journal | 8.7 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 4-day median first decision Reported | 196 days Measured |
| Clin. Infect. Dis. | 8.3 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 6 days to first decision; 39 days excluding desk rejections Publisher-reported Source: Why Publish with Clinical Infectious Diseases (OUP) | |
| ACS Appl. Materials | 7.8 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 34.4 days with review; 5.2 days without review (medians) Publisher-reported Source: ACS Journal Metrics | |
| Cell Reports | 7.7 | Not publishedElsevier's journal catalog lists no acceptance rate for this journal (read October 2026). Source: Elsevier journal catalog | 5 days median to first editorial decision Reported | 209 days Measured |
| Anal. Chem. | 7.3 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 36.8 days with review; 4.3 days without review (medians) Publisher-reported Source: ACS Journal Metrics | |
| Frontiers in Immunology | 7 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 77 days Measured |
| AMP | 6.9 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | |
| J. Agric. Food Chem. | 6.7 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 41.9 days with review; 0.9 days without review (medians) Publisher-reported Source: ACS Journal Metrics | |
| MSB | 6.7 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 3 days median to first decision Publisher-reported Source: Molecular Systems Biology journal page | 166 days Measured |
| JCAP | 6.4 | Selective specialist journal | Editorial screening first | |
| Genome Res. | 6.3 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 218 days Measured |
| Astron. Astrophys. | 6.1 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | |
| JCB | 6.1 | Selective RUP cell-biology journal | Presubmission replies often within about two days; peer-review timing depends on editor fit | 207 days Measured |
| RSC Adv. | 6.1 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 17 days median to first decision; 27 days after review Publisher-reported Source: RSC Advances journal page | 60 days Measured |
| Front. Plant Sci. | 5.9 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | Not publicly verified | 72.5 days Measured |
| Front. Microbiol. | 5.8 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | Not publicly verified | 70 days Measured |
| Nutrients | 5.8 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 15.8 days median to first decision (MDPI, first half of 2026) Publisher-reported Source: Nutrients journal page (MDPI) | 29 days Measured |
| ApJ | 5.7 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | |
| IJMS | 5.6 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 17.5 days median to first decision (first half of 2026) Publisher-reported Source: MDPI journal home page | 35 days Measured |
| Front. Pharmacol. | 5.4 | Not officially publishedFrontiers in Pharmacology public pages checked for this addition did not publish a stable official acceptance rate. | Varies by specialty section and review pathFrontiers describes the submission and peer-review process, but timing varies by article type, section, and reviewer availability. | |
| Physical Review D | 5.3 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 3 days median to first decision; 41 days after review (2025) Publisher-reported Source: APS journal metrics | |
| Mon. Not. R. Astron. Soc. | 5.2 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 33 days median to first decision (2024) Publisher-reported Source: RAS publication statistics | |
| Molecules | 5.1 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 15.6 days median to first decision (first half of 2026) Publisher-reported Source: Molecules journal page (MDPI) | 33 days Measured |
| Journal of Neuroscience | 4.4 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 176.5 days Measured |
| Chem. Commun. | 4.3 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 16 days median to first decision; 22 days after review Publisher-reported Source: ChemComm journal page | |
| Remote Sens. | 4.3 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 22 days median to first decision (MDPI, first half of 2026) Publisher-reported Source: MDPI journal home page | |
| RNA | 4.3 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 92 days Measured |
| Sustainability | 4.1 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 16.9 days median to first decision (first half of 2026) Publisher-reported Source: MDPI journal home page | |
| Sensors | 4 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 17.8 days median to first decision (MDPI, first half of 2026) Publisher-reported Source: MDPI journal home page | 37 days Measured |
| Physical Review B | 3.9 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 6 days median to first decision; 47 days after review (2025) Publisher-reported Source: APS journal metrics | |
| Ann Surg Oncol | 3.8 | Not publicly disclosedThe official instructions do not state an acceptance rate. Source: Society of Surgical Oncology instructions | Not publicly verified | |
| Appl. Phys. Lett. | 3.8 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 24 days average to first decision (2025) Publisher-reported Source: About Applied Physics Letters (AIP Publishing) | |
| J. Chem. Phys. | 3.7 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 28 days average to first decision (2025) Publisher-reported Source: About The Journal of Chemical Physics (AIP Publishing) | 74 days Measured |
| Materials | 3.7 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 14.4 days median to first decision (first half of 2026) Publisher-reported Source: Materials journal page (MDPI) | 34 days Measured |
| J. Phys. Chem. C | 3.4 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 34.9 days with review; 6 days without review (medians) Publisher-reported Source: ACS Journal Metrics | |
| Appl. Sci. | 2.9 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 15 days median to first decision (MDPI, first half of 2026) Publisher-reported Source: MDPI journal home page | |
| J. Appl. Phys. | 2.7 | Not published by the journalChecked against the publisher's own pages in the 2026-10 journal-fact audit: the publisher does not publish this figure. | 26 days average to first decision (2025) Publisher-reported Source: AIP Publishing applied physics journals | |
| eLife | N/A | Not reported35% sent for review Publisher-reported 2025 calendar year. eLife reports 1,013 of 2,853 submissions sent for review and states the proportion as 35%; the two counts give 35.5%. eLife publishes every reviewed submission as a Reviewed Preprint, so it reports no acceptance rate. Source observations checked 2026-09-24. Source: eLife: The eLife Model, three-year update | 8 days without review (median) Publisher-reported2025 calendar year. Submissions not selected for peer review. Source observations checked 2026-09-24. Source: eLife: The eLife Model, three-year update |
How to read these numbers
Acceptance rates measure the percentage of submitted manuscripts that eventually get published. But the number you see isn't always calculated the same way across journals.
Some journals count only papers that make it past the desk and into peer review. Others count every submission, including the ones desk rejected in the first week. A journal that desk rejects 70% of submissions and then accepts 40% of what goes to review might report either number. That's why you'll sometimes see different acceptance rates for the same journal depending on the source.
The rates in this table are the overall rates (including desk rejections) where available, since that's the number that matters to you as a submitting author. If a journal desk rejects most papers, that's part of the reality you're facing.
What acceptance rates don't tell you
They don't tell you whether your specific paper will be accepted. A 20% acceptance rate doesn't mean you have a 1-in-5 chance. If your paper is a strong fit, your odds are much better. If it's a marginal fit, your odds are much worse. The aggregate number washes out the thing that matters most: how well your paper matches what the journal actually publishes.
They also don't tell you about the quality of feedback you'll receive. Some journals with high acceptance rates provide excellent, detailed reviews. Some with low rates send form rejections with no useful information. The review experience varies more between journals than acceptance rates suggest.
Using this data to pick a journal
Don't pick a journal by acceptance rate. Pick it by fit, audience, and scope. Then use the acceptance rate to calibrate your expectations and your backup plan.
If you're targeting a journal that accepts fewer than 10% of submissions, have your second and third choices ready before you submit. Read our guide on how to choose the right journal for a step-by-step process.
For a worked example of checking the source and denominator, use the European Heart Journal acceptance-rate evidence and denominator worksheet.
If you're not sure whether your paper is competitive for your target journal, that's what pre-submission review is for. An experienced reviewer can tell you in a few days whether you're in the right ballpark.
Not sure if you're competitive?
Find out before you submit
Acceptance rates tell you the odds. The free pre-submission diagnostic tells you where your specific manuscript stands, with section-by-section feedback, live citations, and a journal fit score calibrated to your target journal's current criteria.
Get the quick diagnosticUse this data
The measured acceptance times in the last column and our publisher-reported figures are open data, with CSV and JSON downloads, a codebook, the method and a changelog on the journal data home. Estimates are not in the downloads. Free to reuse under CC BY 4.0 with attribution.
Related resources
- All Journal Publishing Guides - detailed submission advice for each journal
- How to Choose the Right Journal for Your Paper - a practical, step-by-step guide
- Desk Rejected? Here's Why - the 7 most common reasons and how to fix them
- Journal Comparisons - side-by-side comparisons of similar journals